Brian Aldiss

Brian Aldiss

British science fiction legend Brian W. Aldiss was born in East Dereham, Norfolk, in 1925 and served with the Royal Signals in the Far East. His first book, The Brightfount Diaries, was published in 1955. He has since gone on to publish more than fifty books, including such classics as the Helliconia Trilogy, Greybeard, The Malacia Tapestry, Frankenstein Unbound, the Squire Quartet (comprised of Life in the West, Forgotten Life, Remembrance Day, and Somewhere East of Life), and Non-Stop.

Brian Aldiss is the winner of many awards including the Hugo, Nebula, British Science Fiction, John W. Campbell, and Locus awards.  His most recent book, Harm, is the story of an imprisoned and tortured science fiction writer who creates a fantasy world to escape from the present. Brian Aldiss continues to live in Oxford, his home of the past forty years. 

Books

Non-Stop

Non-Stop

Curiosity was discouraged in the Greene tribe. Its members lived out their lives in cramped quarters, hacking away at the encroaching ponics. As to where they were - that was forgotten.

Roy Complain decides to find out. With the renegade priest Marapper, he moves into unmapped territory, where they make a series of discoveries which turn their universe upside-down... Non-Stop is the classic science-fiction novel of discovery and exploration; a brilliant evocation of a familiar setting seen through the eyes of a primitive. 

(Overlook Press, July 2005)




Harm

Harm

From one of science fiction’s greatest living writers comes an unforgettable near-future novel in the tradition of Bradbury’s Fahrenheit 451, Orwell’s 1984, and Dick’s A Scanner Darkly. Both a searing indictment of a fear-drenched political climate and a visionary allegory that shines a piercing light on timeless human verities, Harm is a powerfully compact masterwork.  

Paul Ali, a young science fiction writer of Muslim heritage, is arrested for no reason and held in isolation as prisoner B. Questioned, beaten and humiliated, he writes -- in the privacy of his mind -- a science fiction novel set on a planet in every sense a thousand light years away. Gradually, the two worlds start to converge...

(Del Rey , May 2007)




Frankenstein Unbound

Frankenstein Unbound

Limited edition of Frankenstein Unbound with a new introduction by fellow British New Wave pioneer Michael Moorcock and art by Thomas Walker.  

(Centipede Press, March 2016)