Catriona Ward

Catriona Ward

Catriona Ward was born in Washington, DC. She grew up all over the world, including in the United States, Kenya, Madagascar, Yemen and Morocco. She read English at St. Edmund Hall, Oxford, and later studied acting in New York. When she returned to London she worked on her first novel while working for a human rights foundation until she left to take an MA in Creative Writing from the University of East Anglia. She won the August Derleth Award for Best Horror Novel in 2016 for her debut, The Girl from Rawblood, and again in 2019 for Little Eve, making her the first woman to win the prize twice. Little Eve also won the 2019 Shirley Jackson Award for Best Novel, and it will be published by Nightfire in 2022. Catriona lives in London and Devon.


The Last House on Needless Street

The Last House on Needless Street

Catriona Ward's The Last House on Needless Street is a shocking and immersive read perfect for fans of Gone Girl and The Haunting of Hill House.

“The new face of literary dark fiction.” —Sarah Pinborough, New York Times bestselling author of Behind Her Eyes

"The real. I've read it and was blown away. It's a true nerve-shredder that keeps its mind-blowing secrets to the very end." —Stephen King

In a boarded-up house on a dead-end street at the edge of the wild Washington woods lives a family of three.

A teenage girl who isn’t allowed outside, not after last time.

A man who drinks alone in front of his TV, trying to ignore the gaps in his memory.

And a house cat who loves napping and reading the Bible.

An unspeakable secret binds them together, but when a new neighbor moves in next door, what is buried out among the birch trees may come back to haunt them all.

(Tor Nightfire, September 2021)